We’ve Got Tonight

We’ve Got Tonight
Originally performed and written by Bob Seger
Version below performed by Kenny Rogers and Sheena Easton

[Boy:]
I know it’s late I know you’re weary
I know your plans don’t include me
Still here we are both of us lonely
Longing for shelter from all that we see
Why should we worry no one will care girl
Look at the stars now so far away

We’ve got tonight
Who needs tomorrow
We’ve got tonight, babe
Why don’t you stay

[Girl:]
Deep in my soul I’ve been so lonely
All of my hopes fading away
I’ve longed for love
Like everyone else does
I know I’ll keep searching after today

[Boy:]
So there it is girl
I’ve said it all now

[Girl:]
And here we are, babe
What do you say
We’ve got tonight
Who needs tomorrow
We’ve got tonight, babe
Why don’t you stay

[Boy:]
I know it’s late
And I know you’re weary
I know your plans
Don’t include me

[Girl:]
Still here we are

[Together:]
Both of us lonely
Both of us lonely

[Boy:]
We’ve got tonight

[Girl:]
Who needs tomorrow

[Girl:]
Let’s make it last
Let’s find a way

[Boy:]
Turn out the light

[Girl:]
Oooooh-ho, come take my hand now

[Together:]
We’ve got tonight, babe
Why don’t you stay
Why don’t you stay

I’ve felt like this more times than I can count.  Beautiful, beautiful song.  I especially love the duet of Kenny and Sheena.  Sometimes I’d think of you and imagine we’d steal a moment alone, without regard of the after.

Leave a Reply

