A definition of peace

I am currently reading pages upon pages of course work for my peace psych class.  I really like this definition of peace from UNESCO:

There can be no genuine peace when the most elementary human rights are violated, or while situations of injustice continue to exist; conversely, human rights for all cannot take root and achieve full growth while latent or open conflicts are rife… Peace is incomplete with malnutrition, extreme poverty and the refusal of the rights of people to self-determination… The only lasting peace is a just peace based on respect for human rights. Furthermore, a just peace calls for the establishment of an equitable international order, which will preserve future generations from the scourge of war. (UNESCO, 1983, pp. 259; 261)

This reminds me of why I try to be a good student at 26.  Why I’m putting myself through all the stress and panic of grad school.  I don’t know what I’m getting ready for but I hope in time I can make a difference.

2 thoughts on “A definition of peace

  1. Peace psych class?! That sounds wonderful! Do you happen to know the list of books for it? I’d be really interested in how you cover such an interdisciplinary subject…

  2. Hi! 🙂 Sorry it took this long to reply, I haven’t been able to check wordpress with all the things going on in life. We don’t really have books for peace psych class. Instead, we’re given journal articles and published papers found in the journal of peace psychology. I think you can search for sources online, especially since there are specific peace psychology topics that focus on each country’s conflict situations. 🙂 Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

