Joy

I learned a few things about myself yesterday. What that is, of course, I’ll keep to myself. In the meantime, let me park these quotes and concepts on this page, to continuously remind me of yesterday.

  1. “The glory of God is man fully alive.” -attributed to Saint Irenaeus
  2. Love and workwork and love, that’s all there is.” -Sigmund Freud
  3. “You know, the ancient Egyptians had a beautiful belief about death. When their souls got to the entrance to heaven, the guards asked two questions.  Their answers determined whether they were able to enter or not.  ‘Have you found joy in your life?’  ‘Has your life brought joy to others?’” (Script from The Bucketlist)

Life, how I love you! It’s admittedly a struggle for me to like you most days, but when you’re good, you’re perfect, and when you’re bad, you call to mind a lyric from a Taylor Swift song: “He’s so tall, and handsome as hell… He’s so bad but he does it so well!”

Life, how curious a being, force, and ability you are. In this sad moment of my life, I find myself grateful for you.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

